Hukad

I was happy to see a newly opened restaurants in one of the fairly old malls near our place. Because it has been in existence for sometime (read: a few decades), most of the establishments there are the run of the mill restaurants. Maybe it is also because the mall-goers are your typical suburban homeowners who are just there for the convenience of the location, and are not looking for something new. So imagine my surprise when I saw Hukad by the Golden Cowrie. I gather that it had its beginnings in Cebu, and is now available in selected areas in the Metro. And is Cebuano cuisine known for? Lechon!!

But aside from the star of the Filipino table, lechon, the restaurants offers traditional, but tasty and sumptuous Filipino cuisine. And because we have a tendency to tone down taste (less salt and other pampalasa) of our cooking at home, I tend to have this feeling of being deprived. And so I compensate when we are outing out, and I order to my heart’s content, much to the chagrin of the health-conscious husband. I liked Hukad’s food so much that I dragged my parents here to eat the day after the hubby and kids dined here. These are what we had, which made my heart flipflopped :))

Baked scallops
img_99281

Pritchon
img_99321

Monggos
img_99361

Escabecheng tanigue
img_99371

Fried tuna fingers
img_99851

Pinakbet
img_99861

Lechon belly
img_99871

Leave a Reply

