Sadly happy

With the ongoing transition to the next government, I have saying a lot of goodbyes and see-you-soons to a lot of colleagues in the public service, especially those whose tenure are co-terminus with the current administration. Our agency was not spared as our head is appointed by no less than the President. It was, to say the least, the most stressful stint I ever had in my entire professional career. But as with any experience in life, I have many takeaways from working with her. I got to hand it to her and her unconventional style of leadership, I truly learned a lot (and this is not lip service) because she made us, no, forced us more like, to go beyond our limits. She has also kept our tradition of not being “regular” government employees as we truly gave meaning to the term public service.

I am relieved, grateful and a bit sad that she is going. I think I am getting my life and my sanity back, but I never thought I would say it, but I will definitely miss her.

Yesterday, we had our last senior staff meeting, and I have to say that this has got to be one of the lightest but meaningful goodbyes I had.

IMG_7741[1]\

IMG_7740[1]

Leave a Reply

