The US capital

Despite this being way long overdue, here is a glimpse of my visit to the capital of the United States, Washington, DC. It’s been almost two months since I came back, and frankly, it is only now that I get to think that I did enjoy myself somehow. You see, the magic of traveling and seeing and experiencing new places wasn’t quite there with me as I traipsed around DC. Remember, my little girl was hospitalized when I was there, and half my mind was in the Philippines. Despite that, as always, I am thankful for the opportunity and experience!

So these are where I went on my side trips (will not probably post the official meetings!). I was very happy to have friendly “aunties” and “uncles” who made time to tour us around on our free time. For some places, we just walked around and took in the beauty of the city. It was a little rainy the time we were there, which was unusual they say, but I liked that it was busy but not manic-busy. It had old world charm, mainly because of the brownstones that dotted most of the streets, and there were no high rise buildings unlike in many urban cities in the US. I was told that this was because there is a law prohibiting the construction of structures higher than the US Capitol. We got a little as far as Virginia.

Pennsylvania Avenue including White House

IMG_3575

IMG_3570

IMG_3564

IMG_3592

IMG_3602

IMG_3604

National Basilica

IMG_3621

IMG_3649

IMG_3662

US Capitol

IMG_3676

Washington Monument

IMG_3681

World War II Memorial

IMG_3682

IMG_3684

Iwo Jima

IMG_3689

IMG_3700

National Geographic Museum

IMG_3711

IMG_3716

IMG_3719

IMG_3722

IMG_3724

Leave a Reply

