Bone jarring pain

Have been in so much pain, literally, for than a month now, because of my teeth. And I mean, real, bone-jarring, boring-into-your-skull kind of pain. And I thought my tolerance for pain is quite high. But I succumbed and admitted defeat to this kind of pain. I wished I was back in the O.R. delivering my twelfth baby. I was calling all the saints I knew. The pain was that bad. I often saw red, especially at night. It unilaterally affected me running my household and performing my duties at work.

So I finally trooped to our neighborhood dentist. Only to be checked on by what I consider an incompetent dentist who chopped off my silver amalgam and replaced it with a new one. I thought the devil got me there and dragged me to hell. Maybe that was how being burned alive felt like. I thought my eyes rolled back to my head a couple of times. I thought maybe I should have prepared my last will and testament. It was that BAD.

Yet, there was no relief. If anything, the hell-like pain doubled a thousand times. This was akin to Bella Cullen’s experience as she shifted from mortal to immortal.

So I went and sought my childhood dentist. And my going back to her was such a blessed relief. She ordered a panoramic xray of my mouth even prior to my visit. And she immediately knew what to do.

IMG_4142

Looks terrible doesn’t it? All that source of pain found in three impacted teeth and that molar that maybe needs a root canal.

I had my first oral surgery two days ago. The actual operation was done and over with in thirty minutes or maybe less. The anticipation was worse and I was just relieved that it was all over. Now I have a swollen cheek to show for it, and some toothache that is more manageable.

Just two more to go.

Good God. Giving birth is definitely more tolerable.

Leave a Reply

