Shake drill

In recent months, there has been reports on the possibility of an impending earthquake, the magnitude of which is so big that it foretells of a catastrophe not yet seen in this lifetime. Supposedly, it would kill about 34,000 in Metro Manila, injuring thousands more and destroying billions of property, especially those sitting on the West Valley Fault, which traverses a large part of the Metro.

Of course, it had started a slow panic in everyone. But what’s important is that many establishments and agencies, government or private, have begun making massive preparations in case this Big One happens. When the last strong earthquake occurred in 1990, I was a fifth grade student playing in my classmate’s house while waiting for ma and dad to pick me up. I was so lost then, I didn’t know what to do or where to go. It is good that we, as a society, are serious about preparedness now. Glad to have participated in today’s metro-wide earthquake drill.

cfo2

drill1

drill4

I realize that, despite all these, we can never be really prepared for when the thing happens. I am praying with all my might that He spares all my loved ones. It is too scary to think about being away from our family with communication lines down, and you don’t know what happened to them.

* top photo courtesy of Ivy

Leave a Reply

