Short hometown visit

After our family outing in Nasugbu, Batangas over the Lenten break, we decided to make a short trip to our house in Cuenca, Batangas, which is several towns away from Nasugbu. I have not been here in over a year, if I am not mistaken. And I am happy to bring home Maxine to the home I grew up in. I wrote about my childhood several years back, and as always, all my happy memories always come back, but weirdly enough, they also make me sad because I miss my grandparents so much.

But as a harried mother, this time, I did not have the opportunity to “sulk”. We literally flew into town, chatted with our beloved housekeeper, had my favorite suman and kapeng barako, walked around the house (and said hello to my lolo and lola) and left.

I vow to stay longer next time.

Maxine and daddy with the great Mt. Maculot as backdrop
cuenca7

My girls in their ancestral house
cuenca6

The view from my mother’s room
cuenca1

My grandparents’ room where I used to sleep
cuenca2

The local fare (perfect pair!)
cuenca5

cuenca4

Maxine with Tita Ana
cuenca3

Leave a Reply

