Bed mates

One thing that I haven’t really figured out or came up with a concrete plan yet is our sleeping arrangements once the baby is here. Having only a queen-sized bed, it seems not to be a good idea for all four of us to continue sleeping together without the baby getting squashed by Dad or Ate. If ever you wake up to this, you would understand why:

foot

Being a Filipino family, we are sort of brought up with the kids sleeping with parents until they become tweens or so. I remember I only moved out of my parents’ marital bed when I was 10. But that was only because my father worked abroad, and it seemed at the time to be a given that both me and my brother keep our mama company. Now, at 5, I think I have anxieties about letting Mischa sleep on her own despite her having her own bed and room. Also, I don’t want her to feel left out or booted out just because baby came along. No better way to feel like an outcast like a new member of the family.

So, what to do, what to do. My current bed mates are quite the monsters when they sleep, i.e., so much sense of entitlement when it comes to space, hogging of blankets, kicks in the gut or if you’re lucky in the face, and so on and so forth. We’re thinking of buying the hubby a cot as his sleeping quarters for the meantime. But really, I don’t think the sisters are ready to be side by side for now. Maybe a crib for the new baby? But poor her, sleeping all by herself while the three of us sleep cozily beside each other! What do you think?

Leave a Reply

