Placenta accreta

My pregnancy journey this time has really tested our family. With my first, except for that terrible bout of pregnancy rashes, I was otherwise fine. I was just…big.

Now, it’s just so different. I don’t know, but I feel like I am encountering all probably complications known to pregnant women. Well, that’s an exaggeration, but it certainly feels like that. For a while in the beginning, I thought I was going to lose the baby again. I bled a lot, I was hospitalized, and was put on bed rest for the better part of the first trimester. My myoma is growing alongside the baby, and for the life of me, I don’t know how my uterus can accommodate a growing child and almost half a foot of benign tumor.

And now, this.

During my 13th week ultrasound, the sonologist who did my scan suspected that the myoma may be overlapping with the placenta since they were adjacent to each other. And so on my 18th week, I was ordered to undergo color mapping or another form of ultrasound using a doppler. There, though still hard to confirm, it seems that about a centimeter of the placenta is indeed attached to the myoma, which is part of the uterine wall. It is just plain luck that I possess many of the risk factors for placenta accreta. I probably have uterine scarring due my previous cesarian section, had a D&C procedure due to my miscarriage last year, I am 35, and been carrying this myoma for God knows how long.

My OB has not said much, except that my condition is definitely dangerous and difficult. So of course, I took it upon myself to research and turn to everyone’s friend, Google. The prognosis is not too bad. It is not common, but neither was it unheard of. There are ways to treat it, and the good thing is that, I have been diagnosed now rather than later, so that both I and my doctor can aptly prepare. We could plan something akin to a troop preparing for war.

Truth be told, I am definitely scared. Of dying in particular, as I have read that placenta accreta can sometimes be fatal due to possible hemorrhaging after giving birth. I am so afraid of leaving my young family–my husband and two babies–fending for themselves. Families need wives and mothers.

As I am now on my 21st week, I have to be closely monitored and regularly undergo the doppler sonography, instead of the normal ultrasound. I am praying for some miracle of God, that somehow the myoma and placenta would separate at some point, and not fully join together. But I think it’s all anyone can do right now, to pray for my uncomplicated delivery. And to believe that the Lord will spare me and the baby.

One thought on “Placenta accreta

  1. Pingback: Beyond normal preparations | a crazy mom's world

Leave a Reply

