Halfway through summer

It is May, and in about a month, vacation for the little miss will be over. I lament that she has spent all the time only at home. Truth be told, I do not want a childhood for her that is so like mine. I spent all of my childhood summers only inside the house (I was forbidden to go out and play on the streets), or if I’m really lucky, I get to go to the province to spend time with my grandparents.

Well, I’m really trying to veer away from that kind of life. Mischa has shown a lot of interests, and I didn’t want to pin her down on anything that she wouldn’t like or wouldn’t benefit from. She wanted to take piano lessons but when I inquired with music schools, they said she had to be an advanced reader. Well, maybe next year. She has also shown interest in guitars and drums, and you can always hear her humming to herself. I have a budding musician!

Unfortunately, both the hubby and I are working, thus, we cannot afford to bring her around anywhere anytime. And as I told you, my parents idea of a bringing up a child is for it to be at home sitting in front of a television or stuffing its mouth and train their hawk eyes on her all day, everyday. Which is not really, for me, a way to live. I just want her to be exposed to as much opportunities as possible. That way, she can expand her horizons and will be able to choose what she wants and what piques her interests.

Also, I have been a regular at hospitals due my very delicate pregnancy, and this has taken a huge chunk of our times.

Well, aside from music, she also likes arts. I am glad that, now, she is more fluid in her work. And “cleaner”. If we still have time before June, I will see if I can look for arts and crafts classes nearby. For now, she likes the decorating stalls in malls:

a2

a3

a4

And today, she will be starting her swimming lessons, yay! She’ll be joining the Snapper Class at the Bert Lozada Swim School at the Elizabeth Seton School in Imus. Too bad, we couldn’t go with her as I already have too many absences. I hope the folks take decent photos of her. I’m so excited!

bl

Leave a Reply

