Village party

One of the parties we went to this holiday is the first one organized at our phase in the village. Since all of us are new (all of us transferred just in the last two years), it was fun to see most of our neighbors at last. If you go to our side of Citta Italia, our house is near the Phase 15 entrance, so we don’t normally get to see the rest of the residents except those in our own street. All in all, I think there are forty households now. I am glad someone in our phase (I will call him Mr. Jess) has taken up the cudgels in keeping everyone in the loop through e-mail, and spearheading this first get-together.

I would be the first one to tell you that I don’t normally go out and “socialize” with the neighbors regularly. Sure, I would greet, wave and smile at them when I see them, but I am much of a homebody and prefer to be inside the house than out and engaging in small talk. I’ve lived in three villages, not counting my childhood home in Batangas province, and I have been pretty much this way for the past thirty years. This trait I inherited from my mother who also kept to herself in our family home. In the second home where I moved in when we decided to get married, we stayed for a while with my brother-in-law’s mother, who in contrast spends the afternoons either in the steps of the house, or some of the neighbors’, doing chitchats.

So anyway, really, I am glad for this street party. Everybody seemed to be family. Since we are all new, nobody had to welcome nor join. It was everybody’s first time!

We all brought some food to share, and gifts to exchange. The older kids at the neighborhood did some intermission numbers. Some of the uncles and aunties also let the kids fall in line for their pamasko, which is usually money, candies or small tokens. I hope we can regularly have one of these even if it is not Christmastime.

IMG_1900

IMG_1908

IMG_1922

IMG_1934

Leave a Reply

