The baby is now a…lady?

Oh my! Is it me, or does my daughter seem to be shooting up right before my eyes? She’s getting taller and taller (I think it is safe to say she will grow taller than moi), her limbs longer and longer, and her hair! Parang dalaga!

red

green

She has also been discarding a lot of her ties with her babyhood. Although I am ashamed to admit it, but finally, finally, she has let go of her binky. I know, I know, it sounds so bad that I let my 3-year still use it. But as I am a working mom, and I have let my mother take care of her for most part of the day, I didn’t have the heart and inkling to disrupt whatever makes her go to sleep right away. I knew long before that it is more of the adults who need to sacrifice if we are to let go of her beloved chuchu, but as my mother insists on her being kawawa if the kid has a hard time lulling herself to sleep, and I cannot put her down myself, I let it go for a while. Until such time we went to our own house, and left the thing at my parents’ home. Boom! Thank God for that “accident”, I had to force myself to be patient, and try all tricks I have up my sleeve to make her go to sleep. We spent a long time that first night, she tossing and turning, and me patting her thighs and butt, scratching her head, reading, and basically watching over her. She didn’t cry as I feared she would. It was just hard when I myself could hardly keep my eyes open. But I had no choice but to carry on. At last, she slept at 12:30 a.m. The following night, she was able to sleep a little earlier at 11:00 p.m., then 10:00 p.m. After that, we were able to somehow set a routine.

Now, I was a little afraid my hard work over that weekend would go for naught when we come home again to my parents. I truly fear my mother would give in, and not persevere in putting her to sleep without the binky. I told her to tell Mischa that the dog ate it. I don’t know if she believed that or not, but yay, she’s still making progress to this day. My mother didn’t give in! I still think 10:00 p.m. is way past her bedtime, but at least, she’s sleeping without aids now, hooray!

Now diapering is another story. Mischa has long told us that she doesn’t want to put on diapers because they’re hot and itchy. So I didn’t put any when it was her, I and her father going out. At night, she has had a lot of accidents on the bed that it seemed to be smelling of wiwi permanently. I had to get up and rouse myself from deep sleep a lot of times to change her clothes, and put on sapin until morning comes. Such a hassle, right? But I knew it was for a good cause so I pushed on. So now, she’s also okay in that department and we have saved so much on diapers. Another hooray! Making poopoo is another story. I don’t know if she has issues with the toilet bowl and poop, but how come she does it so easily with pee? I mean, she tells us she has to go pee, but not poop. I’m sorry it’s so gross, but she also does it on her panties. Which poses a bit of a problem as she is starting summer lessons in her new school, and I really don’t want her to go with diapers on. What to do, what to do? Maybe I should take a leave for a week or two so I can truly train her. Just a little more patience…

All of these are good things. But as any parent would tell you, no matter how old your child gets, he or she will always be a baby in your eyes. Inevitable is their growing up, despite how they seem to be very dependent. Someday, they will fly the coop and find their own place in this world. You just have to be there to guide, and hope that you equipped them with the proper tools to survive and make it out alive.

Huhuhu.

One thought on “The baby is now a…lady?

Leave a Reply

