Fifty Shades of Grey

The Fifty Shades trilogy is one of the most talked about books in the market today. Because of its supposedly controversial theme, it drove many readers-women specifically-to pick them up. E.L. James, the author, has piqued the curiosity of women of all ages, race, income, gender preference and social status.

Me, I was glad I had them on the iPad. They made me survive the grueling continental trip to Israel. They kept me company while I survive boredom and fatigue.

Christian Grey is, for me, a man to be coveted. Sans the sexual addiction, who wouldn’t want a handsome, rich, intelligent, philanthropic man? Add a little vulnerability any woman would find challenging to overcome, I would have been a goner if he was a real person and I had the chance to meet him. I would have buckled in the knees, too, much like the mousy, insecure Anastasia Steele.

My review of the series may already be tainted from other reviews I have read in the course of reading it. I can’t help but agree that the characters are too much Twilight-y–from the godlike, too-handsome-to-be-true Edward and Christian, to the brown-haired, quiet Bella and Anastasia. The girls kept repeating the mantra of what-could-this-god-see-in-me. And I couldn’t agree more about the too much sex. Really! And the scenes just seem to be a little repetitive. Ditto for many of the lines. But still, I wouldn’t call it very bad writing. There were a lot of dragging parts but the books made me hang on to the very end to see how the characters would fare as soon as they got over the insecurities of Christian and Ana. The controversial BDSM are actually sparse, and can be found widely spaced throughout the books. “Vanilla sex” is actually more prevalent than the whipping, bounding, tying, etc.

They are really just that–books. After going through them, I could say I liked them, not really love them. There have been more better written and well thought of ones, of course. But then I knew what I was “getting into” so I wasn’t that surprised or pretended to be shocked by all the gory details. I read (if time and my toddler permits) a wide range of literature. I am not into just chick-lit, or fantasy, or crime. If you are a wide reader, you would understand how fun it is to pore over pages and pages of various genre. I don’t think reading the trilogy made me a different person nor had my values changed. I have not become a menace to society 🙂

Leave a Reply

