Walking the path of Jesus

My title may be a little overly dramatic, but it sure felt like it as I was trekking down the streets of Jerusalem. For a Christian Catholic like me, it is a treat of a lifetime to be able to do this. While I didn’t think I’ll be able to do some sightseeing on this business trip, I was glad I did, thanks to fellow Filipinos who led the way for me. I have no qualms of traveling alone to distant lands miles away from my Philippines, but the idea of roaming on my own, asking for directions and doing the touristy stuff alone, do not bode well for me. Plus, as I said in my earlier post, I traveled far and long, and as soon as I got to my hotel, I immersed in a leisurely hot shower, and plunked my tired body into the luxurious bed of the Inbal Hotel (more of the hotel in my next post, hopefully!).

Due to my own ignorance, I thought Israel is one of the desert regions. I was surprised that it is lush with foliage.

My first glimpse of the Dead Sea

The scenic route from Tel-Aviv to Jerusalem

Beautiful sunset views

Lion’s Gate

Via Dolorosa or Way of the Cross

Is it really?

One of the walkways

Jesus rested His hand in here

Church of the Holy Sepulchre, which was unfortunately closed when we went there (I wanted to swipe at those flags! They had no business being there!)

Some street food


The above photo is out of place from the Jerusalem post. But I gotta include it here since it was my first time to see a desert, having lived in the tropics all my life, and have visited only parts of Europe, North America and the rest of Asia. This was taken inside the plane as we skimmed the skies of Jordan prior to landing.

As with almost all of my trips, there is always that nagging feeling of regret that the time spent in that place is not enough. I wish I could visit Israel again, and drink in more of this wonderful country. I was both in awe, at the same time, a little skeptical (I am so sorry) at the places I have been to, especially those that hold significance for my religion. It’s just that it seems like the place is not as preserved or taken cared of as I had imagined. I revere walking in where the Lord took his final steps, but really, it was like it was not given that much importance there. It was a little disappointing. Too bad, we didn’t get to go inside the Church of the Holy Sepulchre where the rest of the stations of the cross were, and where Jesus was crucified, it would have been awesome.

I regret that I did this trip in the evening. I am sure it would be more beautiful in the bright sunlight. I wish I could be given another chance. I will love to bring my mother along.

Leave a Reply

