Busy Iloilo

My trip to Iloilo was short, frenetic but nevertheless, insightful. As with all the other places I’ve been to (you can check out my Lakbayan score on the right widget of this site hehe), I always, always learn a lot–positive or negative. I really wish I had stayed long enough to savor this busy cultural and economic hub in this side of the Visayas. But as time and budget only permitted, I only got an overnighter. Didn’t see much, save for the hotels I had to inspect for a conference we will be holding in the middle of the year. And, as I and a colleague flitted from rooms, suites, conference facilities, in-house restaurants, to museums for a side tour, it broke my heart that I wasn’t able to visit, enter and marvel at all the wonderful churches Iloilo is famed for. It didn’t help my cause that it was the start of the Dinagyang festival since many major roads were closed to give way to the parade. Well, so much for that. I will be back by April or May though. So I will make sure that I will be able to explore more places by then. Wait for me, Iloilo!

What I really found true, though, is that Ilonggos are really malambing when talking to you, with a few exceptions of course. They have soft, lilting voices that almost caresses you. Even those on the streets! How much more if it was somebody you love.lol

Anyway, I was glad I had my fill of:

Tatoy’s, a seaside restaurant on the outskirts of Molo

A wonderful bowl of Deco’s La Paz batchoy

Also had really wonderful meal at Afrique’s, an Italian restaurant in the new Smallville business district

Another thing I got impressed with in the city is its world-class airport. It was like a smaller version of the Terminal 3 airport in Manila. Best domestic airport in the Philippines by far, after Cebu and Davao.


One thought on “Busy Iloilo

Leave a Reply

