New ‘do

Growing up as a kid in the 80s, I had the ubiquitous apple cut. To this day, I haven’t quite figured out what pushed mothers to do that to their children over and over. My mom and I would often be seen squabbling at the ‘parlor’ because I would beg not to have my hair cut. As far as I could remember, she wouldn’t let my hair grow past my shoulders. And so when I stepped into high school, I finally had the freedom of growing my tresses long. I was blessed with manageable, baby-thin hair (albeit frizzy at times), and I finally felt like a lady. Save for a couple of times when I gave in the to urge of donning the pixie cut, I have worn my hair long for most of my adult life.

Then I decided to do this over the weekend:

Nice change, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

